Duterte to appoint Danny Lim as new MMDA chair

Metro Manila (TIMES Philippines, May 22) — A Malacañang official confirms President Rodrigo Duterte is set to appoint retired Brig. Gen. Danilo Lim as the new chairman of the Metro Manila Development Authority (MMDA).

Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea confirmed the report to CNN Philippines.

Duterte will sign Lim’s appointment papers on Monday, May 22.

Tim Orbos, who assumed office in August last year, will remain as MMDA General Manager, and in text message said, “I serve at the pleasure of the President.”

Lim ran for the Senate in 2010 as an independent candidate, and eventually as a guest candidate for the Liberal Party. After being disqualified then reinstated by the Commission on Elections, he lost, placing 17th.

Former President Benigno Aquino III appointed him as the Bureau of Customs Deputy Commissioner, until he resigned in July 2013 due to alleged corruption in the bureau.

Lim led the failed 1989 coup d’etat against the administration of former President Cory Aquino, for which he was detained for two years. He was released under the Ramos administration, and was a member of the RAM-SFP-YOU (Reform the Armed Force Movement-Soldiers of the Filipino People-Young Officers Union) peace panel.

He was relieved from his post as commander of the First Scout Rangers Regiment for allegedly plotting a coup d’etat against former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo in 2006.

He was detained from 2006 to 2010 for charges of rebellion and attempted coup d’ etat.

Along with Senator Antonio Trillanes IV, Lim was among the Magdalo group members who staged the 2007 Manila Peninsula siege.

Lim is the 12th former official from the military or police to assume office under the Duterte administration, following the appointments of:

National Security Adviser Hermogenes Esperon
Office of the President Undersecretary Emmanuel Bautista
National Irrigation chief Ricardo Visaya
Defense Secretary Delfin Lorenzana
Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office General Manager Alexander Balutan
National Food Authority administrator Jason Aquino
National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council executive director Ricardo Jalad
Bureau of Customs Commissioner Nicanor Faeldon
Environment Secretary Roy Cimatu
Land Transportation Office chief Edgar Galvante
Incoming Interior Secretary and incumbent Armed Forces of the Philippines chief Eduardo Año

This is a developing story. Please refresh the page for updates.